The 80th Anniversary Participation Event of National University of Mongolia

2022/10/12 published

From October 4th until 6th 2022, Prof. Keisuke Murakami, Vice-President (International Relations), and other two delegates from UoM were present at "the 80th Anniversary Commemorative Event of National University of Mongolia" held in Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia.


President, National University of Mongolia Dr. Ochirkhuyag

The National University of Mongolia (NUM) was founded back in 1942 and is the oldest university in Mongolia. Until 2020 it was the only national university that has the title "national" in its name. Presently, it has 6 faculties, approximately 22,000 students and circa 1,300 faculty members and it is the largest university in Mongolia. We concluded the academic and student exchange agreements back in June 2011 and former president, Tatsuo Suganuma, attended the inaugural signing ceremony held at the university.


Group Photo at the Sukhbaatar Square

On October 5th, "the 80th Anniversary Commemorative Event of National University of Mongolia" was organized at the Parliament House, in the attendance of the President and Prime Minister of Mongolia. The rector of the Moscow State University, Viktor Sadovnichiy, and the president of the Seoul National University, Se-Jung Oh, gave congratulatory addresses.


Commemorative Photo with professors at Department of Chemistry, NUM

After the ceremony, Vice-President (International Relations) and his delegation paid a visit to the laboratory of Professor Bolormaa Oyuntsetseg, at Department of Chemistry, School of Arts and Sciences. Prof. Bolormaa is also a co-researcher of the joint study with Prof. Shiomori of the Faculty of Engineering, who is the contact faculty member of the university. Associate Professor Hirose, who joined on behalf of Prof. Shiomori, caught up with his old friends, the relating faculty members at Department of Chemistry. After the farewell party, Vice-President Murakami bestowed the commemorative gift from the university to Dr. Ochirkhuyag, President of the NUM.


President Ochirkhuyag (Right) and Vice-President Murakami (Left)